Image of overtime and weekly time sheet. Unpaid overtime is a serious charge and employees need an employment attorney for the best advice

Unpaid Wages and Overtime

California employers are required to pay non-exempt employees overtime pay for hours worked beyond a normal work week. If you are a non-exempt employee and you worked over 8 hours in a single day or over 40 hours in a week, you may be owed overtime pay. Also, if you worked more than 6 consecutive days, you may be owed overtime for your seventh day of work.


Rate of Pay for Overtime Work

Overtime pay is generally equal to one and a half times (1.5x) your regular rate of pay. For example, if you were paid $10 per hour, your overtime rate of pay would be $15 per hour. The rate of overtime pay increases to double (2x) your regular rate of pay, if you work over 12 hours in a day.

California Minimum Wage Rules

The current minimum wage in California is $10.00 per hour. Prior to January 1, 2016, the minimum wage was $9.00 per hour. Certain places like San Francisco and Los Angeles have passed laws increasing the minimum wage above the California requirement. If your employer is currently paying you less than the minimum wage, or has done so in the past, it may have violated California's minimum wage regulations. In fact, if you normally make above the minimum wage, but your employer hasn't paid you for hours that you worked, you may have a claim under the minimum wage regulations.

How Much is an Unpaid Wage Claim Worth?

If you have an unpaid wage or overtime claim, you may be entitled to back-pay, liquidated damages, and even attorneys' fees. An experienced attorney can help you to determine how much a claim may be worth and help you to determine whether it is worth it for you to pursue such a claim. If you believe that you have a claim, contact us now for a free consultation. For more information on how much a claim may be worth, see this article on penalties for unpaid wages and overtime.